What's new
PGBlitz.com

Register Now! Find useful tips, Interact /w Community Members and join the part the Best Community on the Internet!

Chat Raspberry Pi as Read Only Secondary Plex Server

axlrod

I have plexguide working well on a remote virtual server and am using gsuite for storage, with encryption, all served by Plex. However I have a few plex client locations that I feel would be better served with the tdrive/tcrypt mounted locally on a tiny local plex server. As I have very little experience with accessing the google drive/team drive, rclone, etc as plexguide made all that super easy, I am not sure how to start with setting this up. As I have all my media pre-processed so I don't have to do any in flight conversion on the client end, I plan on using a Raspberry Pi. I am curious if anyone else has done this and can they share hints/steps/scripts.
  • OS/Docker/Networking/etc is easy for me on a RPi
  • Raspbian or is another OS on the RPi better?
  • Set Up access to the gdrive/tdrive., but preferably read only. I don't want unintentional deletions etc.
  • Set up the gcrypt/tcrypt access so the real files can be read.
  • Generate the hard links like pgblitz so the local plex library generating is "local" and fast. This process does not have to be frequent. Maybe once a day with the ability to do so as needed to force an addition for scanning in Plex.
I am not 100% wedded to a RPi, I just happen to have 4 of them and would rather not spend 3-5 times as much on a small PC if I can avoid it.

I also know I could do something like Rasplex and that might be the way to go, but I like the idea that I don't have to go through the main plex server using up bandwidth and running 3-4 streams at the same time. It would also mean that if the connection to the Plex server was lost or slow for some reason, as long as the mini-server could get to g/tdrive all should still work.

Kiminoth

I did something similar.