What's new
PGBlitz.com

Register Now! Find useful tips, Interact /w Community Members and join the part the Best Community on the Internet!

New Media Server with Windows file server

BeeRobots

Blitz 3rd Class
Hi all, I am just getting started with Ubuntu and a new media server utilizing plexguide. I have a quick question. I would like to use my Ubuntu VM to run docker, sonarr, etc. and save those files to a domain joined Windows file server. I was wondering if anyone utilizes this setup or had any knowledge about how this might be done? Thanks in advance for any answers!

Zippy

Blitz Sergeant
Staff
I'm assuming the windows file server is a samba share and accessible by different computers you can install cifs. apt install cifs

the command to connect would look like:

mount -t cifs -o username=USER,password=PASS //197.100.1.192/nas/Media /mnt/nas

the 197 ip is the local server's direct path
and /mnt/nas is the folder on the ubuntu server

I also like to chmod 777 the entire folder because sonarr/radarr can get angry and not move media unless it had full access.

BeeRobots

Blitz 3rd Class
I'm assuming the windows file server is a samba share and accessible by different computers you can install cifs. apt install cifs

I also like to chmod 777 the entire folder because sonarr/radarr can get angry and not move media unless it had full access.

Thanks Zippy! I'll give that a try and let you know how it turns out.

BeeRobots

Blitz 3rd Class
Thanks for that info, i was able to get the drive mounted to my Ubuntu server but I am unable to navigate to it from sonarr or radarr? I'm guessing this is a permissions issue but I'm not sure. I'm going to keep plugging away though so let me know what you think!

Zippy

Blitz Sergeant
Staff