What's new
PGBlitz.com

Register Now! Find useful tips, Interact /w Community Members and join the part the Best Community on the Internet!

Netcup + Gsuite plex buffering

Wisem2540

FreeLancer
Hey all,

I am very new to PG. I have had my Netcup root server for about a month now. I am using an unllimited gsuite teamdrive config for storage. When playing 1080p movies at original quality, I get almost constant plex buffering.

I used to think this was due to Disk IO issues when I was acquiring a ton of media at once. That has slowed down considerably and its still happening. Even when plex is set to 4MB 720p, I still get some pixelation and stuttering.

I have ruled out device and network issues by switching to a friend's plex server and playing a title at a similar bitrate with no issues. Even when starting the movie, the initial buffer was considerably faster on the friend's plex server than on my root server.

As I said, I am very new to PG, so I suspect I have a cache setting, or something somewhere that I can optimize. I basically installed PG, set up the dockers and storage links and that was all. Any direction here would be very appreciated

Admin9705

Administrator
Project Manager
It very well could be the server. I haven't heard the best about netcup except prices. You should try a server with hetzner (you can get a refund). I never have problems with them. Unless you have a second box, you'll be unsure if it's the server. You can also run a hetzner.cloud server instance (cheap) to test. Finally, you can test a home virtual machine as a free test route.

Wisem2540

FreeLancer
It very well could be the server. I haven't heard the best about netcup except prices. You should try a server with hetzner (you can get a refund). I never have problems with them. Unless you have a second box, you'll be unsure if it's the server. You can also run a hetzner.cloud server instance (cheap) to test. Finally, you can test a home virtual machine as a free test route.